Thursday, 4 February 2016

Arrows (Review, Tour & Giveaway!)

Hi there!

Title: Arrows
Author:  Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Publisher:  Penguin Random House
Published Date: 26th January 2016
Rating: 4 stars

*Thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club for the review copy*

Synopsis: People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Review: When it comes to this book I had a few mixed feelings. This one certainly had its flaws, but I think it deserves the four stars simply because I had so much fun reading it and enjoyed the time it gave me. And I can be as critical as I like, but when it comes down to rating a book, enjoyment is what factors into it more than anything else.

This book follows Karma who initially wanted to be a ballerina. She was shot by a love arrow and fell in love with her boyfriend – although he wasn’t shot too so he doesn’t really love her back. The novel hints at all the wrong things that Danny does. He can be a bit rough with her, he kisses her but when she needs his help (especially as they are teenagers with a child) he is never around. We even learn that once in the year that they have been together Danny has cheated on Karma, although she did stay with him. And even though we think Karma should have dumped the dirt bag by now, she’s powerless. The arrow has changed her life.

I honestly couldn’t stand Danny and the way he treated Karma. It was perfectly okay to dislike him because that’s how the author meant for it to be. He wasn’t deserving of Karma at all and Karma, deep down, could see this. She just had a hard time when she felt pulled to him by some kind of force. I wanted to slap that guy hard in the face but it was sad that he didn’t actually exist, so I couldn’t do it.

Karma was a lovely main character. She’s made some mistakes in her past – getting pregnant as a teen being one – but she loves her daughter, her family and her friends. She’s trying not to dwell on the past and the ballerina career she had to give up, and face the future for the better. I could really admire her strength. Even though it might not be present at the fore-front of things all the time, you can tell there is an underlying strength in her through all she does.

I also really liked Aaryn as a character. He’s the cupid who botched Karma and Danny’s arrows. In the beginning I found his character to be a little vague and hard to pinpoint but I think that has to do with the world building more than Aaryn himself. He was a gentleman, and respectful, but even though Karma was under the arrow spell, he still fought for her nonetheless. You had to love his cluelessness when it came to human terminology and some human things, but it turns out that when it gets to emotions and partying, Olympus isn’t too different from earth.

I liked the dancing aspect of this book as well, and how Karma was fighting for a dancing career because it is her dream and ambition. Despite having a terrible boyfriend and a baby she wasn’t giving up on that dream, although she did have to put it on pause during her pregnancy. I could admire that and I loved all the dancing moments as well.
  
The romance itself was just too sweet. I am not going to say much. You might think the whole love triangle vibe is coming from this because Aaryn loves Karma, and Danny is dating Karma, but I didn’t feel like there was at all? It was Karma and Danny together, and Aaryn wishing it wasn’t so because he wanted her for himself. The romance worked for me and the ending was surprising. It wasn’t as predictable as I guessed it would be, and reading this book made me so happy in general.

Happy me when things worked out in the book.
Despite enjoying reading this book, there were some flaws. Even though I loved the book I feel obligated to mention them just because I like my reviews fair. So let’s start with the whole Greek mythology aspect! I wanted there to be more of that. There wasn’t much world building when we were in Olympus, and the Greek Gods and Goddesses felt more like names than anything else because they weren’t too developed. We don’t spend to long up there so that makes sense. But I felt like the novel could’ve been a bit longer and incorporated more mythology? Especially as it was an aspect of the novel I was looking forward to.

The other thing would have to be the secondary characters. They were there and all, and added to the story, but I didn’t feel much for them because they weren’t too developed. I did like them all, and the two that stood out to me most was Leah and Peyton (especially as Leah seemed to be doing the whole rebellious teenager thing) but for the most part they were just there.

But when it comes to those two points and weighing them out with my level of enjoyment, I know what wins out! Can’t wait to hear more from this author in due time.



Links: Goodreads and Amazon!

Giveaway! Win (1) signed hardcover of ARROWS by Melissa Gorzelanczyk + a bookmark (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

New Video! A new video on my channel about why you should read!



Olivia’s Question: Do you believe in the concept of love as a force? That we can’t choose who we fall for?

Olivia-Savannah x

22 comments:

  1. [ Chuckles ] Hmm. Love; people can always relate to stories on relationships.

    Another book that is worth reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're right! Readers can always relate to love.

      Delete
  2. Thank you a lot for this great review. I am very interested in this book and I'm sure I'll like it a lot!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really think a lot of people should read it :D

      Delete
  3. Hi, Olivia - I've certainly seen this book around. Really liked your review. Enjoyment does win out when rating a book. :)
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal - Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It seems to be pretty popular lately. And yes, enjoyment is the main factor ;)

      Delete
  4. This book was super cute and fast to read. For the most part, I like it. There are lots more I think could have been done to this story. I think the mythology of it all really wasn't up to par. But.... then again, the book is supposed to be light, so I can't complain too much. Lovely review! BTW, I think that there is true love out there for everyone, but sometimes they don't always find each other and just settle for what's in front of them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree with all you said. The mythology was lacking, but I had a bit too much fun with the contemporary to feel very disappointed. I like that mentality you have about true love.

      Delete
  5. Great review Olivia! Romance is not my genre. I have to read it in the right mood a.k.a in a warm summer day and even then, it doesn't always work. And answering your question, I don't think we can choose who we fall for. I mean, the chemistry with another person is there or it isn't. In a way it is also how friendship works. Either you click or you don't, you know? How can you choose anyway? I know there are many factors involving falling for someone but choosing the person? it feels mechanical LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If it's not your genre, then I can understand! Sometimes I just need to be in the right mood to read nonfiction as well. I agree with you ~ we can't choose who we fall for!

      Delete
  6. Ahh too bad the Greek mythology aspect wasn't developed enough. That would probably be a big deal for me. But it sounds great otherwise!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was one of the key reasons I wanted to read it! But it worked out for me in the end anyway.

      Delete
  7. Sounds like an entertaining story. I agree that wanting to keep turning the pages and enjoying a story adds to my overall thoughts about it, even if I do have some issues with the plot of the characters. Glad you liked this one overall and the cover is cute! :)
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Little issues aren't a big deal when I look at the big picture of my personal emotions about it! The cover is sweet <3

      Delete
  8. I agree with you completely. Being critical is good and nice, but it's more important to enjoy myself. And one can do both. Can enjoy something while also being able to critique it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes. I love analysing but ultimately, my emotions run over those critical thoughts :3

      Delete
  9. I heard this book was pretty cheesy and I am not a fan of the cheese lol. So I think I'm gonna pass on this one, no matter how much the synopsis is calling me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you don't like cheesiness, then you probably won't be able to enjoy this one. I understand ;)

      Delete
  10. I am seeing this everywhere. Happy to hear it as good as it sounds.

    ReplyDelete